EMPTY

empty-space-1515108_1280Counted sheep on my way to sleep with you laying next to me.

Finally the cow jumped over the moon and I was fast asleep.

When I woke up to the rays of sunlight heating on my skin you were gone.

I figured we would talk one more time before I had to see you go.

I never got the chance to see you go.

Gone too soon.

All I had left of you was the sheet we shared the night before that I cuddled to my heart.

I want to explain myself in so many words, but my lips are sealed and the key has been thrown away.

The last time I got to hear your heart beat was the moment before I said I hated us.

The loudest silence I ever heard.

The damage I have inflicted on a nothing to something seems to be so unruly.

There’s no comfort in this garden without an you.

So I will lay back down in the last thing we shared only to close my eyes to see the last image of you laying beside me.

It’s the only comfort I have with you being gone too soon.-HonestlyFrank

2 thoughts on “EMPTY

Leave a Reply

